Get the daily newsletter!

VDOT Asks Motorists to Stay Off the Roads

From the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) at 4 p.m. Friday, Jan. 22, 2016.

Snowfall continues across the 14-county Fredericksburg District, and motorists are advised to stay off the roads for duration of the winter storm due to extremely hazardous driving conditions.

Interstate 95 and primary roads in the Fredericksburg District have minor to moderate snow coverage. Secondary and subdivision streets are mostly covered in snow.

Virginia Department of Transportation crews are fully mobilized using nearly 1,000 trucks to plow snow and apply sand, salt, and treatment materials in the Fredericksburg area, Northern Neck, and Middle Peninsula. Crews will be working 24 hours a day in rotating 12-hour shifts until all roads are clear and safe for travel.

While snow continues to fall, crews will make multiple passes on Interstate 95, primary roads, and key secondary roads to keep them clear. Crews focus their efforts on roads that carry the most traffic first.

What Residents Should Know
· High winds and a rapid snowfall rate will severely limit motorist visibility during the storm, with the potential for whiteout conditions. Please stay off the roads.
· If possible, park in a driveway during the storm. This will assist crews as they work to make roads passable.
· Shovel snow to the right of your driveway as you face the road. This will help you avoid doing double work after a plow has visited your street. Or, shovel your driveway except for the final few feet approaching the street where a plow may deposit snow.

Motorists can find real-time information about road conditions in their area at 511Virginia. Download the free mobile 511 app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.

Customer Service Center
VDOT’s Customer Service Center is open 24 hours a day to answer questions and take reports of roadway hazards at 800-FOR-ROAD (367-7623).

Fredericksburg District
VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Photos: Winter Storm January 2016

Heed the Warnings and Stay Off the Roads

Stafford County Opens Winter Storm Day Center

How to report and check the status of power outages

Winter Storm Jonas Closings and Cancellations

Help for the Homeless During Winter Storm Jonas

Gov. McAuliffe Declares State of Emergency Ahead of Winter Storm

Latest Blizzard Watch Predictions for the Fredericksburg Region

Follow Fredericksburg.Today on Facebook, and on Twitter at @Fxbg2day

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This